Custom Class: header-search-container

Custom Class: header-utility-container

Custom Class: mobile-menu-toggle

Reunion 2022 Award Winners

We are happy to announce this year’s Award Winners for Packer. To see the awards, please register for the Reunion and watch them in-person or online. 

The Joan Buehler Eisenstein ‘51 Award for Service to Packer

Given to a member of the Packer Community who has demonstrated outstanding volunteer leadership and service to the school.

Laura E. DeMarco ‘63 IVAc will be presented The Joan Buehler Eisenstein ’51 Award for Service this year. Laura has been a musicologist and interpreter, and we will be awarding her for her dedication to Packer. Having always appreciated the education and experience Packer gave her, she especially reconnected with her alma mater during her 45th reunion. She spent the next 15 years giving her time and effort to support Packer and the alumni community. She served as her Reunion Class Chair, volunteered as a fundraiser, she wrote hand-written letters to her classmates to keep them engaged, and was an exemplary volunteer. She also joined the Alumni Board where she was a constant presence at events and would offer valuable advice and insight as an important member of the Board. Two years ago she retired from the Alumni Board after reaching the maximum term limit of 10 years. We are proud to present her the prestigious “Joanie Award” at this year’s reunion. 

Laura DeMarco ‘63 IVAc (right), accepting the champagne cup award for the most donations for a reunion class in 2018. 

Alumni Award of Honor

Presented to a member of the Packer Community who exemplifies the values inherent in a Packer education.  

Marc Youngblood ‘85 has spent his career as a creative producer, writer, director, and editor with expertise in on-air, live-streaming, pay-per-view, and social-media programming. After receiving his B.S. in Communications he pursued a career in providing high-quality programming for Showtime and other companies. Marc has worked on programs such as "Inside NASCAR," "Showtime Championship Boxing," productions of "The Honeymooners," "Yours, Mine and Ours," and the New York City Marathon.
Marc was president of his class in 1985, served as Reunion Chair, and was on the Alumni Board for 10 years, including terms as Vice President and President.  We were originally set to present Marc with this award in 2020, but couldn't due to the pandemic. So, we are excited to be honoring him this year! We are proud to offer Marc the Alumni Award of Honor for his exemplary career and dedication to Packer.

Eric Baylin
Eric Baylin was a Middle and Upper School teacher at Packer for 37 years. A recipient of the PA Excellence in Teaching award and a holder of the Babbott Chair, Eric engaged and inspired Packer students to find their artistic voices through photography and art, and to reflect on what constitutes a meaningful life through his beloved elective, Life's Big Questions. Eric's reflections on meaningful life at Packer extended beyond the classroom to his colleagues through the professional development program he led (which became a model for many New York City independent schools); through his 20-year leadership of PALS (Packer’s peer-to-peer student mentoring program); and through his training of colleagues to become group facilitators and encouraging them to share their professional expertise. Eric was a true community builder at Packer, creating joyful space with his original songs, inspiring poetry, generosity of spirit and his embodiment of lifelong learning. We will miss Eric deeply, but the sound of the laughter and good vibes he created will continue to echo through the halls of Packer. 

Explore More